Thursday, 23 August 2018

Changes to VMware certification naming

VMware are about to change the naming of their certifications, we'll still have the VCP, VCAP, and VCDX, but now they'll have the year earned, and will allow VMware to keep pace with their rapidly expanding product lines.

For example we currently have VCP-DCV 6.5, but now we have vSphere 6.7, and then vSphere x.x, etc.

We've already seen this naming with the VCP-DW 2018.

This means that the VCP-DCV 6.5 will for example become VCP-DCV 2018

This new naming will begin now, in August 2018, starting with the certifications listed below. This will not affect the naming of any existing certifications and is not retroactive.

With the new naming, we are also able to release certifications on a predictable, annual schedule:

Jan 1: All VCP certifications
Mar 1: All VCAP Design certifications
May 1: All VCAP Deploy certifications
VCDX certification updates will follow VCAP releases

The Year Makes It Clear. We are excited to release these new certifications below with the new naming, available for new candidates and those needing to recertify or upgrade:

VMware Certified Professional – Desktop and Mobility 2018 (VCP-DTM 2018)
VMware Certified Advanced Professional – Data Center Virtualization Deployment (VCAP-DCV 2018 Deployment)
VMware Certified Advanced Professional – Cloud Management and Automation Deployment (VCAP-CMA 2018 Deployment)

For more information, visit the VMware Education Blog and also read the FAQ document