As resource pools are a bit of DRS functionality, they are deleted when DRS is disabled.
You may turn off vSphere DRS for a cluster.
If you disable vSphere DRS, the resource pools are removed from the cluster.
When vSphere DRS is disabled, the cluster’s resource pool hierarchy and affinity rules are not reestablished when DRS is turned back on.
To avoid losing the resource pools, save a snapshot of the resource pool tree on your local machine.
You can use the snapshot to restore the resource pool when you enable vSphere DRS.
When we edit the setting for the DRS cluster and choose to disable DRS we are presented with a warning and asked if we wish to create a snapshot of the resource pools and also the location for the snapshot.
To restore a resource pool tree, you need to meet the following prerequisites:
You can restore a previously saved resource pool tree snapshot when you enable vSphere DRS.
vSphere DRS must be turned on. You can restore a snapshot only on the same cluster that it was taken. No other resource pools are present in the cluster.
To restore the Snapshot, re-enable DRS .
- Browse to the cluster in the vSphere Web Client navigator.
- Right-click the cluster and click All vCenter Actions.
- Select Restore Resource Pool Tree.
- Click Browse and locate the snapshot file on your local machine.
- Click Open.
- Click OK to restore the resource pool tree.